Kevin McCarthy failed to become House Speaker in three rounds of voting.

Kevin McCarthy, the Republican Leader in the U.S. House of Representatives, failed to be elected as the next House Speaker.

In the first round of voting, McCarthy received 122 votes, and Pelosi received 216 votes, with 18 representatives voting present and three voting for other candidates.

In the second round, McCarthy received 159 votes, and Pelosi received 222 votes, with 18 representatives voting present and one ballot for another candidate.

The vote occurred in a tumultuous and divided political climate, with many Republican lawmakers opposing the 2020 presidential election results certification.

Earlier in the day, supporters of President Donald Trump stormed the U.S. Capitol to disrupt the certification process.

McCarthy released a statement condemning the attack and calling for the perpetrators to be brought to justice.

McCarthy has been a vocal advocate for the president's agenda, including repealing the Affordable Care Act and constructing a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border.

McCarthy has faced criticism for his perceived lack of independence from the president and for not addressing the concerns of moderate Republicans adequately.

McCarthy has pledged to continue fighting for the issues that matter to the American people and to work toward uniting the Party and the country.